Megawatts – CD


In stock

SKU: JWMegawatts-CD Categories: , , ,


Originally recorded in 1991 and later released on the Sunnyside label in 2004.

Kenny Kirkland – piano
Charles Fambrough – bass
Jeff “Tain” Watts – drums

1 – Black Nile (Shorter)
2 – Alycia (Fambrough)
3 – The Impaler (Watts)
4 – Rainbow (Jarrett)
5 – Kasploosh (Fambrough)
6 – You And The Night And The Music (Schwartz/Dietz)
7 – Dance Of The Niblets (Watts)
8 – Opal Rose (Fambrough)
9 – Blooski (Fambrough/Kirkland/Watts)

The trio of Jeff Watts, Kenny Kirkland and Charles Fambrough first united as the rhythm section of that first great Wynton Marsalis Quintet and played together for more than two years in the group that set jazz on its ears with its further exploration of the musical concepts that were born of the Miles Davis Quintet with Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter and Tony Williams. Following the (overly) well-publicized rift that resulted in the disbanding of the Marsalis quintet when Kirkland left with Branford to tour with Sting, Tain was reunited with the pianist in Branford’s new band and the two remained almost constant rhythm section mates for the duration of his life. It was Fambrough, who had previously left Wynton’s band to lead his own groups, that organized this date to feature on its own the unit that had propelled Marsalis to stardom.

Additional information

Weight .80 lbs
Dimensions 1 × 1 × 1 in